Balderston wins Original 16 WCT Bonspiel

Kurt Balderston (Grande Prairie, AB) wins the Original 16 WCT Bonspiel, defeating Tom Brewster (Aberdeen, SCO) 8-7 in an extra end. Balderston with Terry Meek at third, Rob Bucholz and Del Shaughnessy on the front end take home the $6,000CDN first place cheque along with 31.804 world ranking points, while Brewster receives $4,000CDN and 24.989 world ranking points for their second place finish.

Starting with hammer, Balderston scored 2 in the first end, then forced Brewster to a single in the second end. After Balderston scored a single in the third end, Brewster responded in the fourth end scoring 3 to take a 4-3 lead. Balderston scored 2 in the fifth end, when Brewster scored 2 in the sixth end. Balderston scored 2 in the seventh end to take the lead when Brewster scored a single in the eighth end to send the game to and extra end where Balderston scored a single for the 8-7 win.

In the semifinals, Balderston defeated Stuart Thompson (Dartmouth, NS) 5-4 in an extra end and Brewster defeated Aaron Sluchinski (Airdrie, AB) 7-4. Sluchinski and Thompson earned $3,000CDN and 19.310 ranking points for their semifinal finishes. In the quarterfinals, Balderston defeated Karsten Sturmay (Edmonton, AB) 8-2, Brewster defeated Greg Drummond (Stirling, SCO) 4-1, while Thompson defeated Rui Liu (Harbin, CHN) 7-6 and Sluchinski defeated Rasmus Stjerne (Hvidovre, DEN) 5-0. Drummond, Liu, Stjerne and Sturmay earned $2,000CDN along with 13.630 ranking points for their quarterfinal finishes.

Balderston defeated Thompson 5-3 in a playoff qualifier to advance to the playoffs. Balderston went 3-0 in the 24 team qualifying round. In their opening game, Balderston defeated Stefan Staehli (Bern, SUI) 8-5, won against Carl deConinck Smith (Rosetown, SK) 9-5, and Daylan Vavrek (Calgary, AB) 6-2 to advance to the qualifier.

Recent News

Silvana Tirinzoni wins Humpty's Champions Cup

Silvana Tirinzoni wins Humpty's Champions Cup

Silvana Tirinzoni (Aarau, Switzerland) wins the Humpty's Champions Cup, defeating Kerri Einarson (Winnipeg, Manitoba) 6-3 at the Merlis Belsher Place in Saskatoon, Canada.

Curling Photos


Curling Blogs

Facebook Feed

To top ↑